The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari | Robin S. Sharma

Summary of: The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari: A Fable About Fulfilling Your Dreams and Reaching Your Destiny
By: Robin S. Sharma


Embark on a captivating journey of self-discovery and transformation in Robin S. Sharma’s ‘The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari.’ In this engaging fable, follow the story of Julian Mantle, a successful lawyer who suffers a life-altering experience that propels him on a quest for deeper meaning and fulfillment. Delve into the powerful teachings of the Sivana System, which encompasses seven key virtues, each represented by a vivid element within a fable. As you venture through this enlightening tale, you’ll uncover valuable insights on cultivating a balanced, meaningful life, and ultimately, reach your destiny.

Finding Soul Amidst Success

Julian Mantle, a highly accomplished trial lawyer, lived the perfect life with wealth and fame. Despite his achievements, his workload took a toll, leading him to suffer a heart attack in court. Mantle disappeared from his firm and sold his belongings to find meaning in life. He embarked on a spiritual journey in India and discovered a community of monks in the Himalayas. His encounter led him to have a reawakening and find his soul.

The Sivana System

After encountering the Sages of Sivana in the mountains, Mantle learned about ways to achieve greater vitality, creativity and fulfillment, which he later shared through the Sivana System. The system is based on seven basic virtues, each represented by an element in a fantastic fable. The story begins in a beautiful garden with a red lighthouse, a nine-foot sumo wrestler, and a golden stopwatch. When the wrestler puts on the watch, he is infused with energy by the surrounding yellow roses, and follows a path covered with diamonds that leads to everlasting joy. While some may find the story ridiculous, each element represents a component of the Sivana System, which Mantle taught to change lives. Discover the principles behind the virtues that underpin the Sivana System and transform your life.

Tending to Our Mental Garden

The mind is like a garden full of thoughts and emotions. The Sivana System’s first virtue is to control the mind by banishing negative thoughts and allowing only positive ones in. This can be achieved by practicing concentration techniques such as The Heart of the Rose. By continuously exercising the mind like a muscle and focusing on positive thoughts, we can live a more peaceful and fulfilling life.

Finding Purpose: The Sages of Sivana’s Five-Step Method

In “The Sivana System,” the second principle emphasizes the importance of having a clear purpose in life. The Sages of Sivana use the Sanskrit word “dharma” to describe this concept, which means “life’s purpose.” Following dharma brings lasting satisfaction and inner harmony. To achieve personal purpose, the Sages developed a five-step method. First, create a clear mental image of the desired outcome. Second, use pressure as a source of inspiration and accountability by telling others about your plan. Third, set a clear timeline for reaching your goal. Fourth, follow the Magic Rule of 21, which states that a new behavior becomes a habit after doing it for 21 days in a row. Finally, enjoy the process of pursuing your purpose. This method emphasizes the importance of setting goals and provides practical steps for achieving personal fulfillment.

Want to read the full book summary?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
You need to agree with the terms to proceed